Tribal   government

The government of the Yavapai-Apache Nation is very similar to that of the United States. It is divided into three branches: Executive Branch, Legislative Branch, and Judicial Branch.


The Executive Branch includes the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson. Each position is elected by the tribal membership to serve a three year term. They are responsible for direct oversight of the Nation’s departments, programs and staff.


The Legislative Branch is comprised of the Tribal Council. The Tribal Council is elected by the tribal membership and consists of the Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and seven Tribal Council members. Council members serve staggered terms.The Legislative branch is responsible for developing laws, codes and ordinances and representing the Nation.


The Judicial Branch is comprised of a comprehensive tribal court system, including a Chief Judge, Associate Judge, Probation Officers, Family Health Court, Public Defender and a variety of support staff. The Judicial branch is responsible for enforcing tribal laws.