Modern   Reservations

Today the Yavapai tribes have three reservations in Arizona.

  • Fort McDowell Indian Reservation, northeast of Phoenix, created in 1903
  • Yavapai-Apache Nation Reservation in the Verde Valley created in 1934
  • Yavapai-Prescott Reservation created in 1935


There are three Western Apache reservations in addition to the Yavapai-Apache Reservation.

  • Fort Apache Indian Reservation in eastern Arizona is home to the White Mountain Apache. Because members of the Tribe served as U.S. Army scouts during the Apache Wars in 1891, they were allowed to maintain a large portion of their original homeland
  • The San Carlos Apache Indian Reservation, in southeastern Arizona, was established in 1872 as a reservation for the Chiricahua Apache tribe as well as for the Yavapai and Apache who were forcibly removed from the Verde Valley.
  • The Tonto Apache Reservation, located adjacent to the town of Payson, was created in 1972.