Apache  Tribes  &  TERRITORY

There are seven different Apache tribes: Chiricauha, Jicarilla, Kiowa-Apache, Lipan, Mescalero, Navajo, and Western Apache. These tribes inhabited vast swaths of territory across Arizona, New Mexico, Colorado, Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas.


Within the Western Apache, who reside in Arizona, there are the White Mountain Apaches, the San Carlos Apaches, the Cibecue Apaches, and the Tonto Apaches. The Tonto Apache ranged from the Mazatzal Mountains (south central Arizona) to the Verde River and up to the San Francisco Peaks. They sometimes intermarried and traded with their western neighbors, the Yavapai. Tonto Apaches also traded with the Hopi and Navajo, but raided the Maricopa, Pima, Havasupai, and Hualapai communities.‚Äč